No Heels, No Glory

Before I had my kids, I used to wear heels.

I tried, honestly I did, after I’d had Harry to wear heels again. Let’s face it, they make an outfit!

On a night out with some girlfriends I fell over a step, twisted my ankle & couldn’t look after my child for 3 days. Ok so I’d had two glasses of wine (another story for another day) no kidding after a baby you can’t drink either, not and still look pretty!

I haven’t managed to wear heels with any success since. So what do you do? Resign yourself to a tiny selection of flip flops in the summer and Ugg boots in the winter? Sigh…oh how I miss wearing heels!!!

I look at the celebrity yummy mummies in my magazine, still tottering on their beautiful sky high shoes, pushing their designer buggies, chatting on their iPhones & looking like there isn’t a care in the world. Has their life even changed?

In my world I can only wear flats, my buggy is covered in mud (& isn’t designer), & I’m pretty sure I forgot to brush my teeth this morning.

So how do I as a mama get back to feeling like ‘me’ again.

Whatever you do, don’t look at anyone else & think they’ve got it all sorted. They probably don’t, silently congratulate them that it appears that way.

I need to put time aside, to see friends & go to the gym. To go out & have dinner & dress up. It is not a luxury & it’s just as important as my husband’s needs. In regards to exercise, think endorphins!

In regards to heels, sigh, I guess I’ll keep trying. I know it can be done!

I’m really hopeful I will be taller again someday. Maybe I’ll practise by wearing my Mama’s heels like I did when I was little. I know my sweet girl will practice in mine.

Until the next time friends.

Regards

Lizzie x

ps No Heels, No Glory comes with the nb that I would not swap my life with my kids for anything! Have a blessed day. L xxx

20130828-190648.jpg

Leave a comment