Contentment, Comparison & Cucumbers

Newly refreshed after our women’s weekend away!

I am grateful that I didn’t have to cook or wash up. I am also so thankful to these women that they choose to support & befriend & walk this journey with me.

Who can do this life thing on their own?

As I sit here thinking about what to blog about this week, I am struck once again how much we compare ourselves to each other.

After reading another blog on the subject last week I found myself comparing once again, a bad old habit of mine!

It does nothing but bring about confusion, self doubt & leaves us lacking self confidence.

So I want to encourage you, whether you are a stay at home Mama like me. Or if you are retired, working, at College, or sick & out of work.

God made you unique, a one off! No mistakes. You are useful, you have worth & you are loved.

We all need support to be ourselves & the best ‘selves’ we can be. I for one need friends, family & everyone in between to encourage & lift me up in times of doubt.

I love a pin I saw on Pinterest. It said ‘Be yourself, everyone else is taken!’.

Regarding contentment this is a tricky one! I’ve learnt that for me, true contentment comes from a non expectancy of others.

My worth was wrapped up in what people or friends thoughtfully gave me. So when the gift didn’t come or the friend wasn’t thoughtful, I thought I wasn’t worth much, to them or to myself.

A very wise friend advised that if no-one gave me anything ever again, it was good be content in every situation.

Since deciding to take this on board for myself I have never been so blessed by people.

I’m allowing them to show their love for me without any pre-conceived ideas from me about how this should be shown, & without any yearning from me to have anything at all.

A lady told us a story on the weekend about cucumbers!

She was new to the church & the Mum of a little girl went up to her & wanted to give her a small little cucumber.

The Mum explained that the little girl had been growing her own cucumbers & that the little girl had chosen to give her harvest, her first fruits, her very own home grown cucumber..to the lady to make her feel welcome.

How amazing is it when we set our default position at unassuming, non-expectancy. We’re then open to be blessed more than we could have imagined.

The story touched my heart, I know it touched the hearts of all the ladies on the weekend away.

‘You’re blessed when you’re content with just who you are – no more, no less. That’s when you find yourself proud owners of everything that can’t be bought.’ Matt 5:5 MSG

Until the next time friends

Have a great week!!!

Lizzie x

20130916-191323.jpg

One thought on “Contentment, Comparison & Cucumbers

Leave a Reply

