Unwelcome Party Guest

Hi all,

I guess like me you’re looking forward to spending time with friends & family over the holidays?

I really love to hear about everyone’s plans, see the photos on Instagram & plan get-togethers & exchange gifts. It’s such an exciting time!

For me though there has been an unwelcome guest at Christmas (& other very social times) for awhile now. Social Anxiety Disorder.

At Christmas time in particular excitement meets trepidation!

I’ve hidden it well & didn’t really understand what was happening fully until now. But bit by bit I’ve done my research, talked to friends & sought counsel. Yep I definately suffer with anxiety.

I struggle in crowds, with loud noise, lots of people & hot places. I think the panic attacks were a good clue! I know I’m not the only one as more & more people talk about it.

For too long now I’ve let it stop me from letting my light shine. Avoiding social situations that might exasperate the situation.

Then one day I just woke up & it dawned on me, I thought this is silly! I’m a strong, confident & outgoing person! How have I let this take me over?!

Time to get back to ‘me’.

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile you’ll know I’ve worked hard on my attitude, being positive, changing the way I see things.

Now at Christmas it can be overwhelming. I’m already slightly panicking about the children’s Christmas service in town (what if we can’t get parked, what if we’re late, what if we can’t get a seat etc etc).

Instead of avoiding said situation, you know what?! I’m going to go for it.

If you don’t suffer with anxiety you may be thinking, how silly. If you want to go to something then just go! But someone who does suffer with it will know it’s not that easy.

My hope is that the more I practice mindfulness, being all in the moment rather than letting my mind gallop on to the million things that could go wrong, it will get a bit easier in time.

I’m also hoping I’ll start to cut myself some slack, my perfectionist personality trait kicks in too (but that’s enough material for another post).

Yes going to a Christmas service with two young children is stressful! It is for everyone not just me!

Time to pull up my britches as my Grandma would say, & get on with it.

Wish me luck.

Do you suffer with anxiety, social or otherwise? You’re not alone.

Are you excited about Christmas & all the extra happiness that seems to go around?

Feel free to comment below or e-mail me on lillybet_may@hotmail.com

Until the next time friends
Have a great day

Lizzie xoxoxo

20131219-120525.jpg

Leave a Reply

