Comparison Part Deux

theodore

Source

Hey friends,

I’ve been thinking a lot about this hot topic recently.  COMPARISON, it’s everywhere.

I posted the other day about comparison taking away ALL of our joy, but I must admit I’ve had a re-think! Mostly because I mis-quoted (sorry Theodore Roosevelt) but also because it’s just something that’s been stirring away in me for awhile.

We need to compare things, that just makes sense.  Say I have a pear in each hand, one is ripe & ready to eat, the other is bruised & looking a bit beyond it, which one would I choose to eat? I need to compare to make educated decisions.

I think my point was (& is) that when I get so wrapped up in what other people have or what they do then that robs me of my joy.

The reason it robs my joy is that the person I look up to (& put on a pedestal), the DREAM job/career person, the go-getter, the Type A personality in the stunning clothes, with perfect hair & perfect family. They don’t always show the hard work, the sacrifice of family time or the downright mundane of the job they do.  They makes it look so easy so I assume it is easy.

Who knows what that person had to go through to get that coveted job, work all the hours God sends? Maybe they’ve had to ‘fake it til you make it’ & are so fed up of the fake & just want to get away & take skiing lessons or go to Hawaii & surf & ‘find themselves’.  Maybe they look at someone like me & think ‘I’d love to stay home with my kids, that would be my dream job’!  Or maybe they were pushed so hard as a child they felt they HAD to get the top career or they’d be seen as a failure by their family. Or it might really be all it’s cracked up to be.

Whatever your situation is, sometimes the grass does look greener & maybe it is. Maybe one day I will have the dream career in writing/journalism/features. But if I don’t ever get that career, or go on that amazing trip or whatever it is for you, does that diminish who I am? Does it diminish who you are? I say NO WAY!

So compare away friends, because that’s natural & human.  But each time you start comparing with someone else’s life, think, does it advance you, or does it hold you back? I’m thinking that if it’s not a helpful comparison then acknowledge it, don’t judge it; then let it go & move on.

If it is helpful, then harness it & use it positively to learn & build a better version of yourself. But do it for YOU, not because you feel you HAVE to in order to look or feel successful for other people. That’s when you’ll be robbed of your joy.

noble

Source

Be encouraged, you are enough just as you are. If you’re not happy, compare wisely, choose joy & make plans.

Thanks for stopping by to read my thoughts, I hope you’re having a great day!

Lizzie xoxoxo

2 thoughts on “Comparison Part Deux

  1. Great sentiment – I totally agree. It is so easy to get carried away thinking of all the things you don’t have that you forget to be thankful for all the things you do 🙂 Great post!! And I think we are all a bit jealous of your gorgeous babies xx

    1. Ahh thanks so much Lucy! The babes are quite gorgeous which is good because sometimes they drive me batty 🙂 just dreaming of a career in features for, say The Telegraph. Because you can be a SAHM & still have the hot career! I have zero experience & fast approaching 40, but am expecting my phone to ring, any minute now!! haha. Blog meet up end Jan sounds great I am in! X

Leave a Reply

