Chubby Legs

Hey friends,

My beautiful Sweet Bea just gets more stunning by the day. Since turning One a month ago she’s changed quite drastically.

One of the ways she’s changed is her pickle nature has been coming out more & more.

Pulling things down that should stay up, wriggling so hard you have to put her on the floor or you’d drop her, throwing her food on the floor for sport. The usual baby transition to toddlerhood really!

The other way is her chubby chubbyness! Those beautiful baby chub rolls on her legs especially. Those squishy cheeks, her big tummy, the fat on her arms, love, love, Iove it!!

Oh how I love Sweet Bea’s chubby thighs. I squeeze them until she giggles that beautiful & infectious deep throat laugh that invariably then comes out of her nose (plus some snot).

She wiggles & I have to put her down, then pick her up & do it all again. What a fun game!! I can’t resist the chubby legs, you see?!

As we were playing this innocent game the other day I said to her ‘I love your chubby legs’ she giggled & we did that over & over again.

A thought hit me, oh my goddess the very thing that I love about my daughter is probably the very thing she’ll loathe about herself when she’s older. Chubby legs? = a total nightmare for a girl, a teenager, a woman, or even very, very little girls.

When does that beautiful innocence go? Where we’re happy with our body just as it is. Where actually we don’t even think about our bodies at all. Where realising our fingers & toes are actually part of our bodies is like, wow wicked! Where pulling things down that should stay up is the most important thing & nothing else even comes into it.

I tried to wrack my little brain to remember when I realised the world is not as it could be. That we could see beautiful, stunning, amazing girls in love with themselves & who they are. Sadly I couldn’t remember, so I’m guessing it starts at a heartbreakingly young age.

I think it has to start at home with us, her parents & wider family, to validate how beautiful, amazing & loved she is. Remember Bridget Jones being so touched because Mark Darcy liked her ‘just as she is’? that’s powerful that.

Also I will teach my children healthy eating & running about like a loon is good for you, but to be a well rounded healthy child not just to look good by the world’s standards!

When the day comes that she asks me that question ‘Do I look fat in this Mum, are my thighs too big’? I’ll say ‘darling you look amazing you’re perfect as you are’, & then ruin it by saying ‘I love your chubby legs the most in the world’, possibly before dodging a hairbrush being thrown at me across the room!!

I might just have to keep that little gem in my heart instead friends! But I will be saying it in my head, because I really do love her chubby legs the most in the whole, wide world.

Sonnet 43 – How do I love thee? Let me count the ways XLIII

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of everyday’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love thee with the passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints,—I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life!—and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Until the next time friends
Have a great day!

Lizzie XOXO

I may be mad but I’ve nominated myself (because sometimes the ship comes to you)! I would love it if you would nominate me if my blog has inspired or encouraged you, you like reading about my life with the sweet kiddos, for my home style or the very fact I’m a new blog with absolutely no bells & whistles (still green/learning). I’d be made up if you nominated me, but as with everything with me, no pressure no problem! LOVE LIZZIE XOXOXOXOXO


2 thoughts on “Chubby Legs

  1. Chubby Flabby Kids are really worth the cuteness. If I’m going to have a kid someday, I want her/him to have that physical attributes as well. I can really imagine the giggles and all of the fun that we are going to have. They are worth the cuddles! =)

Leave a Reply

