Five on Friday – ‘Mama Needs a Break’ 5 Pamper Ideas Without Leaving the House

3a538-5onfridaylogo-final-forblogsidemenu_edited-1_zps7fcf6068

Hey friends,

Linking up again with my lovely hosts over the pond. April, Christina, Darci & Nathasha. Clink their names to see their blogs & show them some love!

Let’s face it lovelies, unless the sweet kids are at School us Mama’s don’t often get a chance to relax sans kids. You’re either looking after children + housework, or out working + running the home.

The Easter holidays, although fun with both kiddos is not a break.  As a Mum that stays home it got me to thinking that actually none of the holidays are relaxing for us Mama’s, in fact they create more work & not less!

So I sat down & came up with ways to have some positive down time during the hectic without a hard hit on the wallet!

1// Take a Bubble Bath

bubble bath

This is actually my number one way to relax & it sounds so simple but if you’re going to have a bubble bath make it count & stay in it for A LONG TIME. Read a book or magazine, get those scented candles out.

You have no idea how often I forget to do this. Such a simple way to pamper yourself, without leaving the house or need of a babysitter!

Takes 20-30 mins, Costs –  Bubble Bath, Candle & Water.

2// Paint Your Nails

I’d love to have my nails painted regularly but it’s just not possible to go to the salon on a regular basis. So a home job in the evenings it is.

I made the mistake of trying to paint my nails while looking after the kids. Orange nail varnish now adorns the side of my sofa. Yep.

Takes 30 mins, Costs – Nail varnish, Nail file Approx. £5-10

3// Face Pack

This doesn’t take as long or cost as much as you think. I like these packs, you can pick them up from any supermarket, just add it onto your shower (or bubble bath) in the evening.

face pack

They make your face feel fresh & rejuvenated & come in loads of different flavours, I love the chocolate one, I’m all over that.

Takes 15 mins, Cost £1

4// Get Weeding/Activity

Over the Easter weekend I set to weeding our boarder & around the apple tree we planted for Sweet Harry.  Hubby watched the kids. I could still hear them playing & having a great time together, but I wasn’t responsible for supervising them.

It took over an hour to weed my little patch but I was so pleased with the result & while I was doing it I was so focussed on it I didn’t think about anything else at all!

weeding

This is a win/win because my garden also looks great, which gives me pleasure every time I look at it.

Takes 1 hr, Costs – The price of a spade

5// Read

I just don’t plan in time to read even though I love it.  By evenings I’m pretty wacked.  This is where I need to remind myself to read during Sweet Bea’s nap time.  It seems like a luxury when there is always so much to do around the house.  I think it’s important to give your mind a break, a change from the norm.  You know what they say, a change is as good as a rest.

Takes – As long as you want, Costs – Dependant on your book or magazine of choice!

What do you like doing? Plan it in.

Plan in baths, face packs & painting nails in the evenings while the kids are asleep. For reading you may have to put a timer on it so you don’t get so into it you forget to do the laundry! For the weeding or activity you like doing you may need to rope in your partner, parents or a friends help to watch the kids.

Make sure you ask someone you love & trust, they may just love the opportunity to watch your sweet babe’s for an hour to bless you!! Maybe you could do it for a friend too! Share the love.

I hope you enjoyed my 5 this week & that they encourage you!

See you next time!

Lizzie XOXO

 

 

2 thoughts on “Five on Friday – ‘Mama Needs a Break’ 5 Pamper Ideas Without Leaving the House

Leave a Reply

